Well this is such a complicated question. Not.

What exercise works? The exercise you do is the exercise that works. I like to be a Low Drama Fitness Professional. Clients frequently seem to expect that I will dismiss whatever form of exercise they are already doing when they come to me to do Pilates. Nope. Won’t happen. If you are off the couch, up and moving, I am thrilled for you. I want you at least to vaguely enjoy if not outright love what you are doing, or at least the way you feel after the workout. 

This is where a quote from the incredible Maya Angelou comes in:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Remember how exercise makes you feel. If you tried one kind and you hated it, try another. If walking makes you happy, then walk. If running delights you, then run. If you have stairs, take them two at a time, many times in a row. Make a date weekly or even twice a week to take a teacher’s class you particularly enjoy. Find a podcast, a DVD, a video download- these are all valid ways to work out, possibly without even walking out your door. Enjoy.